Yesterday at Disney’s biannual D23 Expo, in the ‘Pixar and Walt Disney Animation Studios: The Upcoming Films’ talk, senior creative officials (such as John Lasseter) gave a presentation discussing the animated movies we get to look forward to in the near future.

This has lead me to create this brief post just giving my thoughts on these movies.

First up is The Good Dinosaur: 
This is the project that is furthest along as it is due to be released on 25th November 2015 and we’ve already seen a trailer. 

It’s about a young (caveboy) child and a young dinosaur traveling together after the dinosaur- named Arlo- finds himself far from home.

I must say the trailer genuinely impressed me; it already looks to me as if it’ll be a tearjerker. However, I do have a slight quibble with the animation style. Based on the trailer, it looks as every aspect of the background was maticulously drawn to look as realistic as possible, which I found to create a slightly unpleasant juxtaposition with the (obviously) less realistic dinosaur.

Nonetheless, I’m definitely looking forward to this.

Hypemeter: 7/10

Next up- Zootopia:  

This is the tale a bunny cop called Judy Hopps (get it? Because she’s a bunny! Classic.) who wants to be a ‘real’ cop but only gets assignments like being the meter maid. 

This would change when she meets Nick Wilde, a sly fox conman, voiced  by Jason Bateman and later realises that she need his help. 

He helps her realise that she’s more than a ‘dumb bunny’ and he’s more than a ‘sly fox’.

Zootopia hits theatres 4th March 2016.

To be honest, the storyline feels somewhat generic and predictable; I’m not hugely invested in this movie.

Hypemeter: 6/10

Next, Moana: 

I have very high hopes for this one because it feels like old school Disney.   

The only announced cast member so far is Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson, who will be playing Maui, a demigod.

The plot of the movie is still kept well under wraps but the footage shown to the audience at D23 was apparently very impressive and showcased Maui, Moana and her pig.

I have a lot of hope resting on this one. Don’t mess it up Disney!

Hypemeter: 9/10

Now onto Gigantic:  

This was a surprise announcement and is based off the fairytale ‘Jack and the Beanstalk’.

First and formost can I just say how stunning that concept art is?! Amazing.

However, this won’t be exactly the same as the known rendition of the fable. It is now set in Spain. There will also be different cultures of giant; the main antagonists of the picture are ‘storm giants’.

Not only that, but Frozen songwriters Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez will be writing the music for the movie!

This could be really special.

Hypemeter: 10/10

Next is Toy Story 4:  

I’m really unsure how to feel about this because I feel that Toy Story 3 wrapped everything up perfectly; I’m worried that this movie will just be a desperate cash grab.

It’s also being said the narrative focuses on a love story between Woody and Bo Peep, which again concerns me because I slways had the idea that Woody and Jessie were the endgame. In short, I couldn’t give a crap about Bo Peep.

Yet, I still have a strong love for the Toy Story trilogy, so I definitely do have some interest reserved in this movie.

Hypemeter: 7.5/10

How could I possibly forget Finding Dory:  

Unpopular opinion: Finding Nemo is incredibly overrated. I’m sorry, but that’s just my opinion. I liked the movie, but nowhere near as much as everyone else seemed to. To me it was just a dull plot with boring characters- except Dory. 

For me, Dory was the saviour of the film. Without her I would’ve been painfully bored.

Yet despite my gratitude to Dory for making Finding Nemo enjoyable, I’m still not particularly hyped for this movie.

Finding Dory will be released in Summer 2016.

Hypemeter: 7/10

We’ve all been waiting years for it… It’s The Incredibles 2:  

This is it guys, it’s finally here! After waiting 10 years we finally get the long-awaited sequel to the brilliant Incredibles film!

That’s all I deem necessary to say.

Hypemeter: 10/10

And finally, Coco:

 This is about a 12 year old Mexican boy named Miguel who sets off a chain of events that’ll change his life forever.

It’s a very broad, generic sounding storyline, but I’m sure it’ll sound more appealing as more details are released closer to the date.

However, the art is giving me major Nightmare Before Christmas feelings- which I totally adore, so that’s working in their favour for me!

Hypemeter: 7/10

