gwenpoolIt looks as though Marvel has found a new character they wish to milk for every penny.

Gwenpool, an alternate universe version of Gwen Stacy who just happens to be that universe’s Deadpool, will get her own ongoing comic series next spring. The series will be set in the main Marvel Universe, as Gwenpool finds herself there as a result of the events in Secret Wars.

It will be written by Christopher Hastings, and drawn by art team Gurihiru. This creative team have been involved in every Gwenpool story thus fur, and clearly that is going to continue come April-time.

When speaking to Entertainment Weekly, here’s what Hastings had to say about the series:  “So the series is a lot about her believing she’s in a fictional world with no consequences. She’s seen everyone come back to life at some point, and it sort of seems like she’s living in a video game. And then the book is going to be the universe fighting back at that. Like, ‘you can’t really get away with everything’ is kind of the struggle there. It’s also sort of, she just assumes, ‘I’m obviously a main character so I need to be a superhero‘ even though she has no powers. I really like all of these comics right now about these teen heroes sort of figuring out what they’re doing in this world. But they come at it from a much more altruistic viewpoint, and I think it’s really fun to have somebody take on the mercenary angle and sort of like, contrast her against someone like Kamala Khan, as we did in the holiday special.”

That does sound strangely intriguing to me.

Not to mention that I absolutely adore Gurihiru artwork. They have a style that I wholeheartedly love; which is a big factor in my interest in this Gwenpool ongoing.

I normally hate moves like these on the account of them feeling like a cash-grab from Marvel, but this one has peaked my interest. I’ll probably read the first arc and see how I’m feeling about the book then.

