The BFGI realise that this may not be everyone’s cup of tea, and definitely won’t be this high on many other lists, but there’s a soft spot in my heart for The BFG. I grew up reading many of Roald Dahl’s classics, but The BFG was always my favourite, so you could imagine my reaction when I heard Steven Spielberg was turning it into a movie.

The movie is about a young orphan named Sophie who encounters and befriends the BFG (Big Friendly Giant), who is outcast by his fellow giants as he refuses to eat young children. They then go on a great, big adventure that even sees them crossing paths with the Queen!

Sophie is played by newcomer Ruby Barnhill, and she I joined by a fabulous cast including: Mark Rylance (reuniting with Spielberg after Bridge of Spies), Penelope Wilton, Rebecca Hall, Bill Hader and Jermaine Clement.

The teaser trailer released a month or so ago was much better than I expected. Many have commented on how it looks like Spielberg is taking inspiration from Harry Potter, and I think that’s a great idea and will help the movie reach a larger audience.

I can’t wait to feel like a child again whilst watching this movie come July 22nd!

 

