First of all, I would like to say how sorry I am for the delay in posting this. My life has gotten pretty hectic lately with exams and uni interviews, and my work here has fallen to the wayside. I’m sorry for that.

Anyway, without further ado, here my Top 5 Most Anticipated Movies of 2016:


#5: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

rogue oneAs I’ve mentioned before in my previous post about Star Wars: The Force Awakens, I don’t know massive amounts about the franchise. I’ve seen all the films, but that is the full extent of my knowledge. However, seeing TFA back in December, I suddenly became a lot more connected to the Star Wars universe and am now gagging to see more. This is why I have put Rogue One so high on my list.

Much like The Force Awakens, most plot details are being kept firmly under wraps, but we do know that the film will centre on a group tasked with stealing the plans for the Death Star.

Obviously it’d be foolish to ignore the excellent cast that has been assembled too, including Felicity Jones, Riz Ahmed, Diego Luna, Forest Whitaker, Ben Mendelsohn, Alan Tudyk, Donnie Yen and Mads Mikkelsen. Even if I wasn’t a Star Wars fan at all, I would still be interested in watching a cast that good.

After the box office records that TFA has broken, Rogue One is sure to be a smash hit!


#4: Deadpool

deadpool

As you can see from the advertising material above, this film is going to be absolutely hilarious.

Deadpool (according to IMDB) is about “A former Special Forces operative turned mercenary is subjected to a rogue experiment that leaves him with accelerated healing powers, adopting the alter ego Deadpool.” It stars Ryan Reynolds as the Merc With A Mouth, as well as Gina Carano, Morena Baccarin, T.J Miller, Ed Skrein, Stefan Kapicic and Brianna Hildebrand.

I’m a big fan of the Deadpool comic books and an especially great thing about this film is that it is clear Ryan Reynolds is a massive fan too. He has been trying to get this movie going for years now and you can tell from the trailers that he’s in his element with this role.

This movie drops in a few weeks time and I am certain it’ll be worth the wait.


#3: Silence

silence

This is a film about two Jesuit priests who travel to Japan to find their mentor and propagate Christianity. To be perfectly honest with you, this wouldn’t normally be the type of film to entice me. But I can’t help but be drawn in by everything I’ve seen and heard about this film.

Silence is directed by living legend Martin Scorsese and stars Liam Neeson, Andrew Garfield, Adam Driver and Shin’ya Tsukamoto amongst others.

So far the only titbits of information we’ve been given are a few pictures, but hopefully we should be expecting a trailer sometime soon.

The combination of Martin Scorsese, one of my favourite directors, and Andrew Garfield, one of my favourite actors catapults Silence high on my ‘Most Anticipated List’


#2: Captain America: Civil War

civilwarheader

I don’t think there is anyone in the entire world who isn’t excited for this movie to hit cinemas in May.

The sequel to Captain America: The Winter Soldier is being referred to as ‘Avengers 2.5’ because the cast includes all members of the Avengers films, minus Thor and Hulk. It is also being directed by the Russo brothers, who will be taking charge of the next two Avengers movies.

The story follows a rift between Captain America and Iron Man, focusing largely on Cap’s best friend, Bucky. This rift causes the superhero folk in the Marvel Universe to pick a side; Steve or Tony?. This premise alone is pretty mouth-watering, but the addition of Ant-Man, as well as the first appearances of Chadwick Boseman’s Black Panther and Tom Holland’s Spider-Man, makes this film utterly impossible to miss.

I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that Captain America: Civil War is going to be an incredible movie.


#1: Hail, Caesar!

hail-caesar-quad

Hail, Caesar! is about a Hollywood ‘fixer’ who has to deal with the kidnaping of movie star Baird Whitlock in the middle of filming his latest film.

It is written and directed by the Coen Brothers, who are probably my favourite directors in Hollywood right now. Hail, Caesar! stars George Clooney, Josh Brolin, Channing Tatum, Scarlett Johansson, Tilda Swinton, Johan Hill, Ralph Fiennes, Alden Ehrenreich and Frances McDormand. I am not exaggerating when I say that this is the greatest cast I’ve ever seen assembled. It is honestly shocking to see this calibre of talent in just one movie.

The trailers that have been released are genuinely hilarious and superb. What I really adore about these trailers, however, is that they don’t give away the entire film, which is incredibly rare nowadays. The second trailer was basically just one brilliantly funny scene.

If you told me a year ago that anything would stop me from putting Captain America: Civil War at the top of my list, I would’ve thought you were crazy. Yet, here we are, with Hail, Caesar! topping the list and deservedly so.


These are not the only films I’m looking forward to in 2016; there’s many more. 2016 looks to be a great year for film, and I’m looking forward to hearing about some more of the indie releases coming out of Sundance and Cannes Film Festivals.

If you’d like to share your most anticipated films of 2016, please feel free to comment!

