usavengers-cover-70162Just one short day after revealing their ‘Divided We Stand’ slogan for the upcoming Marvel NOW! relaunch, Marvel has announced ‘U.S.Avengers‘ written by Al Ewing with art by Paco Medina. This is only their second confirmed series for the relaunch, behind the solo series for new character, ‘Mosaic‘.

This is a team book featuring Sunspot, Cannonball, Squirrel Girl, Red Hulk, POD, Danielle Cage (Captain America from the future, as well as the in-continuity child of Luke Cage and Jessica Jones), and Dr Toni Ho as the new Iron Patriot.

According to comicbookresources.com “The book will see Sunspot’s Avengers Idea Mechanics evolve into the American Intelligence Mechanics, a new organization endorsed by the government and poised to replace S.H.I.E.L.D”. The main thing that I get from this brief synopsis is that Sunspot’s team will be replacing S.H.I.E.L.D which I am very happy about because there is no feasible explanation as to why they have been able to get away with so much treachery (look no further than the recent ‘Avengers: Standoff’ event) and it is about time that there has been some storyline repercussions.

My thoughts on this series are very dependant on the creative direction Ewing is taking this title in. If he goes full-on American patriot with flags draped everywhere whilst the entire cast sings ‘Star Spangled Banner’ then it is very unlikely that I will enjoy this series. However, if he goes the satirical route then this could be a very enjoyable book.

Honestly, I think that Ewing will go for the latter, as he is obviously a Brit so therefore isn’t likely to have the devotion to America necessary to make this book a nationalists’ paradise. Moreover, the lead character is Roberto Da Costa, a Brazilian; which doesn’t seem like a choice that would’ve been made if he wanted it to be a hardcore patriotic book.

There’s a few things I don’t like about what I’ve seen of this so far. Firstly, the most important thing for me, is that Squirrel Girl is there. I genuinely struggle to think of a character that I hate more than her, so it’s a shame that her presence may ruin this book for me. I’m also not overly keen on yet another Captain America strolling around the Marvel Universe.

Although, there’s even more things that I do like about ‘U.S.Avengers‘. I love that Sunspot and Cannonball are together as they are so much more fun when they’re with one another. I’m happy that POD is on the team mainly because it adds some LGBT representation to the title, which I think is very important if the book is realistically trying to represent contemporary America (plus, her new suit looks fantastic!). I also really enjoy how Red Hulk still manages to maintain the manliest moustache ever even when hulking out. Not to mention, I personally believe Al Ewing is one of the best writers Marvel has got at the moment, so I am pleased to see that he’s still getting to write some weirder, more obscure stories.

Therefore, this title has more working in favour of it, than working against it. This means that I will be sure to give it a few issues to hook me when it is released in the fall.

If all other new titles are as intriguing as this then I look forward to seeing what else Marvel NOW! has got in store for us.

