Today Marvel has continued releasing information about titles for their upcoming Marvel NOW! relaunch, with ‘The Great Lakes Avengers‘ and ‘Champions‘ being announced.

Below you can find information about these two series, as well as my thoughts on them both.


The Great Lakes Avengers

img_0405

This series is written by Zac Gorman, who worked on the Rick & Morty comic book series, and is draw by Will Robson.

The title, which will have a comedic tone, follows Mr Immortal, Big Bertha, Doorman and Flagman; as well as apparently a cardboard cut-out of Squirrel Girl, who was an original member of the Great Lakes Avengers.

I must admit, whilst this may contradict my previous issues with the creative direction of Marvel NOW!, I am actually interested in reading this book. The GLA aren’t characters I’m familiar with and it’s clear that this series, despite being labelled as an ongoing, will not last very long, meaning it doesn’t even have to be a long-term commitment. So far this is the only announcement that I’m certainly intending to support.

The solicitation for issue one reads as follows:

GREAT LAKES AVENGERS #1
Written by ZAC GORMAN
Penciled by WILL ROBSON
Cover by WILL ROBSON
Variant cover by MICHAEL ALLRED

“All New, All Different?” No, thank you! New things are bad and different things are scary! Instead, why not join everybody’s least favorite Super Hero team, The Great Lakes Avengers in their brand new—but not too brand new—ongoing series, Same Old, Same Old, Great Lakes Avengers! When the team gets reinstated as permanent members of the Avengers and uprooted to Detroit, the GLA has one more shot at Super Hero glory…but can they answer the call? Do they even have 4G coverage here? Find out!”


 

 

Champions

The creative team for this book is current All-New, All-Different Avengers writer Mark Waid, with art by Humberto Ramos.

The series cast includes Marvel breakout stars Ms Marvel, Miles Morales and Nova, as well as Amadeus Cho Hulk, young Cyclops and Viv (who is the daughter of Vision from the current Vision series.)

I am very pleased that Marvel appears to be listening to their fanbase, as they have been quite vocal about wanting more teen team books. However, this personally does not excite me.

I love Kamala Khan, and I enjoy Viv, but I’m pretty unimpressed with the rest of the cast. Moreover, I’m bewildered as to why Cyclops is there. He is not a character that I can feasibly picture working in a team like this, but perhaps that’s just me. Either way, this is a step in the right direction.

Furthermore, I’m also not a fan of the creative team. I think Waid is a very good writer, but I tend to find his storylines to bee a bit too safe and linear for my tastes. Whilst Ramos’ art style is definitely not up my street to say the least.

I’m happy for the fans ‘Champions‘ is catered for, and I’m sure that this title will be able to carve itself a strong fanbase, but unless the reviews are very favourable, it is unlikely that I’ll be buying this book.

