In some very exciting news, a HBO spokesperson has revealed to The Hollywood Reporter that a television series based on the iconic Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons graphic novel, Watchmen, could be coming soon; “Preliminary discussions regarding Watchmen have occurred, but we have no additional information, and no deals are in place”. You know what this means? We could actually see the greatest graphic novel of all time on HBO, a channel synonymous with high quality programming!

It is also being said that Zack Snyder, the director of the 2009 criminally underrated Watchmen movie, and the director of Man Of Steel and the upcoming Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice, is interested in helming the proposed HBO product. I think it’d be a huge coup to get a director of his calibre to commit to a television series, especially when he is busy with controlling the DCU.

It is not yet known whether this television series would serve as a sequel, prequel, or just completely ignore the original 2009 film. I personally hope it is the latter.

I really hope Snyder and HBO can come to an agreement soon and bring us Watchmen on a weekly basis!

However, I’m a realist (or perhaps just a pessimist). I know that it’ll be difficult to get Snyder to do a whole television series because of other commitments. I know HBO may be hesitant to enter the superhero genre; although this wouldn’t be anything like The Flash or Arrow. Unfortunately, I struggle to see this getting off the ground, but then again I never thought the superhero genre would ever be as hot as it is now, so who knows what the future holds for this proposed show. All I really know is that I really want this to happen.